Ohio State Legislative Board Leadership

Ohio State Legislative Board Chairman

Chairman John Esterly (Division 34, Columbus) was elevated in March of 2021 and reelected in April of 2022. He previously served as 1st and 2nd Vice Chairman and as the Legislative Representative for his Division. He joined Division 34 in January of 2014 and serves as Local Chairman of Conductors, Division Trustee, and as the First Alternate Trustee to the National Association of State Legislative Board Chairmen (NASLBC). In his role as Chairman, John serves as the lobbyist for the BLET at the Ohio Statehouse and works throughout the state to promote rail safety, freight rail expansion, and the health and wellness of our members. He serves as Delegate to the Central Ohio Labor Council of the AFL-CIO.

John has been invited to participate in the Federal Railroad Administration Rail Safety Advisory Committee (RSAC) working groups on Wayside Defect Detectors and on Critical Incident Response. John volunteers as a presenter for Ohio Operation Lifesaver, the premier rail safety advocacy group with operations in nearly every state. John has led rail safety presentations throughout Central Ohio, from kindergarten classes to first responders. John is an outspoken advocate for passenger rail expansion, and serves on the Board of All Aboard Ohio.

A proud native of Toledo, John lives with his wife, two children, and dog in Columbus.

John Esterly, Division 34

Secretary Treasurer

Brian Garrison, Division 607

Director of Legislative and Regulatory Affairs

Sam Schatz, Division 447

Director of Political Affairs

Jordan Wheeler, Division 234

Director of External Affairs

Joseph Williams, Division 95

Alternate Secretary Treasurer and First Trustee

Tim McMahon, Division 565


Desmon Brown, Division 34


Roger Williams, Division 511

Advisory Board

Following the adoption of our 2022 Ohio State Legislative Board Bylaws, any railroad with an Ohio Division or significant operations in Ohio that is not otherwise represented on the Executive Board will be offered a non-voting seat on the Advisory Board.

Representing the IORY

Christopher “Chip” Cole, Division 282

Representing the WLE

Kevin Helton, Division 292